What's new
SimRacing.Club

Welcome to SimRacing.Club
We are an online racing league, and has years of experience using S397´s rFactor 2. We have several series - VEC which is the official rFactor 2 endurance championship. 6-24 hour races - its all about endurance.
VEC´s feeder series Virtual Le Mans Series and several special events - Plenty of racing. Register today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll just need to introduce yourself and then you can start off in our Academy series

Talking setups

Nick Looijmans

Reaction score
I just had a look at the results of S4/R2 at Watkins Glen Stockcar, and I was highly discouraged. I did some testing at the same track for the SRCA Americas S1/R1 race, and with a slightly tweaked baseline setup I was 3 sec of the pace.

I've only been sim racing for 1 year, so I'm still learning when it comes to making setups. It's a steep learning curve, and there aren't many setups going around in the community.

Looking at the results, I notice that some people are in the same boat as me. The difference in top speed between the top drivers and mid-pick is almost 10km/h. I know that's not all due to differences in setup, but in this case I'm pretty sure a lot of it is.

I just want to have an open discussion. I'm not saying we should definitely have fixed setups. I just feel a bit discouraged even though I know that this series is more about being safe than it is about being competitive. If this series is meant for newcomers, maybe there is something we can do to help and level the playing field.