What's new
SimRacing.Club

Welcome to SimRacing.Club
We are an online racing league, and has years of experience using S397´s rFactor 2. We have several series - VEC which is the official rFactor 2 endurance championship. 6-24 hour races - its all about endurance.
VEC´s feeder series Virtual Le Mans Series and several special events - Plenty of racing.
Register today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll just need to introduce yourself and then you can start off in our Academy series

Screen freezes, "slowmotion" bug and all the other shenanigans

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ricardo Costa

VEC Division 1
VEC Season Pass
Hi,
Since I started playing rF2 for the first time back in February/March I always had this "slowmotion" problem going on from time to time. It would last for like 1 or 2 seconds and it was impossible to guess when it could happen next, completely random.
Fortunately it never made me going into another car or a wall during a race.
So I started practicing at Fuji and I had this big screenfreeze for the first time ever which led me going into the wall and destroying the car. I had enough of it. I had to solve this problem once and for all.

I was using Windows 10 (64bit) and several plugins:
  • The Standard ones from rF2 (steam, etc.)
  • Delta Plugin
  • Trackmap Plugin

My team mates suggested me to change the OS back to Windows 7, which they already were using and reporting me they didn't have a single problem ever since. No "slowmotions" nor screenfreezes, nothing.

So I went for it. I installed Windows 7 (64bit) and disabled every single plugin in the sim and went for the Fuji race.
It ran flawlessly. (Well, almost. I had some inexplicable drop of fps comparing to practice sessions I was in. In practice I was getting 200+fps almost everywhere on the track, rarely going below 200fps. In the race it was fluctuating a lot more, between 180/190 and 120/130 fps. Maybe because of the all the cars on track, I don't know.)